When I was a Child…


“When I was a child, I talked like a child”

The way we express ourselves says alot about where we are in our lives. Most people who have any sense speak from their experiences. How can you not? If you don’t they whatever proceeds to leave your lips is a lie. How can we (I say we because I’m included) speak on what we don’t know or what we haven’t known for ourselves. But you know what is interesting it when we encounter moments that we’ve never experienced that utter truth rings from out our mouths.

“When I was a child, …., I thought like a child”

In those moments of the unknown we don’t know what to say so sometimes we say nothing. We only can think. We begin to internally turn ourselves inside out to search for the answer. Sometimes it’s painful, joyful, amazing, terrifying, tremendous, awful, glorious, repulsive, horrible, painless, peaceful, wonderful. STOP!

“When I was a child, …., ….., I reasoned like a child”

Wonderful, do we really know what that word means think about it break it down. WONDER FUL=FULL OF WONDER. For something to be full of wonder it must be spectacular. But if you think about it, the word doesn’t actually carry the connotation we think it carries. We think it instantly means “good” im not saying it can’t. All I’m saying that it means something in this world has stumped you and all you can do is wonder in the verb sense of the word. Wonder what to say, what to do, how to act and react.

“When I became a man, I put childish things behind me.”

It’s when we learn how to move beyond the “like a child” that we learn to truly speak, think, and act. And those unknown moments call us up to a higher standard. Those are what truly define us. Everyone of our experiences were once the unknown. And look how far we have come. So it is the moments of the uncertain, unrevealed, undetermined, undecided, unsure, unsettled, unresolved that we must rise to the occasion. And I feel that 99.9% of the time I meet that standard and I hope and pray that you can too.

Leave a Reply

