Grey’s Anatomy Musical


Sing Girl, Sing!

I usually don’t discuss TV/entertainment on my blog, but I had to say something about this. I was torn over this episode. I applaud the actors for their effort an willingness to try this. But come on, the only other popular drama’s to do this were “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” & “Scrubs” and might I point out both had a comedy factor that Grey’s doesn’t have or need. There were songs such as Universe and U & Chasing Cars, which I thought were very appropriate and that golden sunshine song fit in a weird way. Some of the singing was great, I very much enjoyed Sara Ramirez’ (Callie) and Chandra Wilson (Miranda) voices. Their voices had a unique quality that other simply lacked. Others such as Kevin McKidd (Hunt) or Kim Raver (Teddy), their performances seemed a little “hoaky” for me.

The other thing that had me on edge was the characters singing during surgery. It just seemed ridiculous at times. Those moments are suppose to feel tense and suspenseful. Sometime the singing was so involved in the scene it was hard to stay focused on what was atually happening. Maybe the producers/director wanted it that way, but I wasn’t a big fan. I could have gotten into it more if the actors’ sing was just dubbed over as soundtrack. I mean if their mouths weren’t signing the words and they were still involved with the moment at hand. I just felt there was a disconnect between what was actually going on in the scene and what the actors where doing. I think it would have been better for the characters to be literally singing in their heads rather than from their mouths during intensive surgery scenes. It just really felt  like it didn’t fit. What doctor would be belting a ballad during surgery. I know the characters weren’t really doing that but the visuals fought the intention. Like I said before I really enjoyed all of Callie’s performances they worked perfectly and the songs outside of the O.R. work pretty good too. All in all I think the episode worked, I give it a B+. It made me cry and made me laugh, and I truly respect everyone involved with this episode for try this. Sara Ramirez told the Hollywood Reporter before it aired: “There were many times where I felt like, ‘Oh my gosh, we’re doing the best episode of ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ ever. And there were other times where I thought, ‘Did we drink the Kool-Aid and we’re all terrible?'” ” Well Sara I think you drank the Kool-Aid but it turned out it was just regular old Kool-Aid.

4 thoughts on “Grey’s Anatomy Musical

  1. Hi, I ran into this website from reddit. This isn’t not something I would typically read, but I loved your spin on it. Thanks for making a piece worth reading!

  2. Hello, just found your web site from reddit. It is not blog post I would regularly read, but I loved your perspective on it. Thanks for creating a piece worth reading!

Leave a Reply

